Vote for the Sharon Laws Road Rider of the spring

Voting is now open for the first part of Voxwomen’s newly renamed Sharon Laws Rider of the Year award, in partnership with the Rouleur Classic, the world’s finest road cycling exhibition. 

Voxwomen Sharon Laws Road Rider of the Year Award 2018 unveiled 

Last year’s winner, after three rounds of voting and a final decision made by an expert panel, was La Course conqueror and rider of the summer, Annemiek van Vleuten. 

This year the award will be decided after two public votes to find the riders of spring and summer. The two with the most votes from each round will go through to a final round poll to find the overall winner.

The winner will be announced at the Rouleur Classic on November 1-3 in central London.

Those that have been shortlisted in the spring period of 2018, covering any races from January 1 to Liège-Bastogne-Liège Femmes on April 22, are:


Anna van der Breggen – Boels Dolmans 

With four Women’s WorldTour wins out of six, including Liège-Bastogne-Liège and the Ronde van Vlaanderen, the European champion has started the 2018 season with a bang.


Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio –  Cervélo-Bigla Pro Cycling 

Consistency has been the name of Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio’s game, with top ten finishes in all but one of the races she’s entered this season. The South African was on the podium at  La Flèche Wallonne Fèminine and took the mountains jersey at Setmana Ciclista Valenciana in February. 

Amanda Spratt – Mitchelton-Scott

Australian Amanda Spratt was nominated for her performance in the Santos Women’s Tour, where she took the first big stage race prize of the season.

Chantal Blaak – Boels Dolmans

Everyone likes to see a rider win wearing the World Champion’s stripes, and Chantal Blaak did just that at the Amstel Gold Race in April, beating compatriot Lucinda Brand in the sprint finish.

Kasia Niewiadoma – Canyon SRAM Racing

After a third second place in as many years at Strade Bianche, Kasia Niewiadoma took a much sought-after win in her very next race, the Trofeo Alfredo Binda.

Alexis Ryan – Canyon SRAM Racing

Alexis Ryan is looking like one of the next big things. The 23 year-old got off to a flyer with podiums, including a win, in each of her first three races of the season.

The post Vote for the Sharon Laws Road Rider of the spring appeared first on The world's finest cycling magazine.

Shop now