Tour de France 2024 start list: The riders for this year’s race

All the riders who we know will be in attendance at the Grand Départ in Florence, Italy 

This start list is provisional, and we will update it as team line-ups are confirmed. 

With many of the Tour de France warm-up races out of the way, teams are putting in the final preparations before the Grand Départ in Florence on Saturday June 29, 2024, including the team's rosters of riders.

The Tour is undoubtedly a race synonymous with big mountain passes, but this doesn’t mean all sports directors want to bring a bus full of climbers. GC teams will need bigger riders who can protect the leader on flatter stages where there are risks of crosswinds and keep them safe in hectic bunch finishes. It’s also important to bring those with big engines to do the work early on in the stage to control the breakaway before the race hits some of the longer climbs.

There are also the teams, such as Alpecin-Deceuninck, who will have made their selection with the sprint stages and green jersey competition in mind, meaning they will likely bring a group of strong lead-out men who can deliver their sprinter to the line rather than focussing on riders who will contest the general classification. Teams without a pure sprinter or GC hopeful might opt to bring a squad of all-rounders – those who can search for opportunistic stage wins and have the freedom to go for the breakaway on days where they might have a chance at staying away for the victory. 

So, there is a lot to consider when choosing an eight-rider line-up for the Tour de France, and it serves as one of the most important jobs for team management in the entire season. We look at who will be on the start line this year for their teams. 

Visma-Lease a Bike

  • Jonas Vingegaard
  • Sepp Kuss 
  • Tiesj Benoot
  • Matteo Jorgenson
  • Christophe Laporte
  • Jan Tratnik 
  • Wout van Aert
  • Wilco Kelderman

Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale 

  • Felix Gall
  • Dorian Godon
  • Oliver Naesen
  • Sam Bennett 
  • Bruno Armirail
  • Paul Lapeira
  • Nicolas Prodhomme


  • Jasper Philipsen 
  • Mathieu van der Poel 
  • Gianni Vermeersch 
  • Silvan Dillier 
  • Robbe Ghys
  • Søren Kragh Andersen 
  • Axel Laurance 
  • Jonas Rickaert
  • Oscar Riesebeek

Arkéa-B&B Hotels

  • Arnaud Démare
  • Kévin Vauquelin

Astana Qazaqstan

  • Mark Cavendish
  • Michael Mørkøv
  • Davide Ballerini
  • Cees Bol
  • Alexey Lutsenko 


  • Matej Mohorič
  • Wout Poels
  • Pello Bilbao
  • Phil Bauhaus 
  • Santiago Buitrago
  • Jack Haig 
  • Fred Wright
  • Nikias Arndt 


  • Jai Hindley 
  • Aleksandr Vlasov
  • Nico Denz
  • Matteo Sobrero 
  • Primož Roglič
  • Bob Jungels
  • Marco Haller


  • Bryan Coquard
  • Guillaume Martin
  • Stefano Oldani
  • Axel Zingle 
  • Alexis Renard
  • Simon Geschke
  • Jesús Herrada 
  • Ion Izagirre

EF Education-EasyPost

  • Richard Carapaz
  • Neilson Powless
  • Ben Healy 
  • Marijn van den Berg 
  • Alberto Bettiol 


  • David Gaudu
  • Valentin Madouas 
  • Romain Grégoire
  • Stefan Küng

Ineos Grenadiers

  • Tom Pidcock
  • Geraint Thomas
  • Carlos Rodríguez
  • Michał Kwiatkowski
  • Egan Bernal
  • Laurens De Plus 

Intermarché-Wanty (announced long-list)

  • Vito Braet
  • Biniam Girmay
  • Kobe Goossens
  • Louis Meintjes
  • Hugo Page
  • Laurenz Rex
  • Lorenzo Rota
  • Rein Taaramäe
  • Mike Teunissen
  • Gerben Thijssen
  • Gijs van Hoecke
  • Georg Zimmermann 


    • Tao Geoghegan Hart
    • Mads Pedersen 
    • Alex Kirsch
    • Giulio Ciccone


    • Rémi Cavagna 
    • Enric Mas
    • Gregor Mühlberger 
    • Davide Formolo
    • Nelson Oliveira
    • Alex Aranburu 


    • Remco Evenepoel 
    • Mikel Landa
    • Ilan Van Wilder
    • Louis Vervaeke 
    • Casper Pedersen
    • Yves Lampaert
    • Gianni Moscon 

    Team dsm-fermenich PostNL

    • Fabio Jakobsen
    • Romain Bardet
    • Warren Barguil

    Jayco Alula 

    • Dylan Groenewegen
    • Luka Mezgec
    • Simon Yates
    • Elmar Reinders
    • Michael Matthews
    • Luke Durbridge 
    • Chris Harper 
    • Christopher Juul-Jensen 

    UAE Team Emirates

    • Tadej Pogačar 
    • Juan Ayuso
    • João Almeida
    • Adam Yates
    • Pavel Sivakov
    • Marc Soler
    • Tim Wellens
    • Nils Politt

    Israel-Premier Tech

    • Pascal Ackermann
    • Guillaume Boivin
    • Jakob Fuglsang
    • Derek Gee
    • Hugo Houle
    • Krists Neilands
    • Jake Stewart
    • Stephen Williams

    Lotto Dstny

    • Arnaud De Lie
    • Victor Campenaerts 
    • Maxim Van Gils 

    Uno-X Mobility

    • Magnus Cort
    • Alexander Kristoff 
    • Søren Wærenskjold
    • Tobias Halland Johannessen
    • Jonas Abrahamsen
    • Christian Odd Eiking
    • Rasmus Tiller
    • Johannes Kulset 


    • Mathieu Burgaudeau
    • Steff Cras

      Shop now