Tour de France

Everything you need to know about the 111th edition of the world's biggest bike race

Tour de France 2024:
Date: Saturday June 29, 2024 - Sunday July 21, 2024 
Start: Florence, Italy
Finish: Nice, France 
Total distance: TBC
Stages: 21
Riders: 176
Teams: 22
Defending champion: Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma)

Key info: Route | Start list | Favourites | Climbs


The Tour de France, or just Le Tour, is the world's most significant bike race and is one of cycling's three Grand Tours, along with the Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a España. 

Staged over three weeks and 21 individual stages, the Tour is one of the world's most gruelling endurance events and sees cycling's strongest all-round riders battle it out across varied terrain for the prestige of claiming the yellow jersey of the overall winner.

The 2024 Tour, the 111th edition, follows the modern trend of starting outside its home nation. In the past decade, the Grand Départ has taken place in Belgium, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Denmark and Germany, as well as France, and for 2024 it will be staged in Florence, the capital of Italy's Tuscany region.

Traditionally, the Tour has finished with a processional ride into Paris and sprint finish on the Champs-Élysées. However, race organisers ASO (Amaury Sports Organisation) have been forced to try a new approach to the race route as the 2024 Olympics will be held in Paris at the same time, meaning the Tour has been ousted from its Champs-Élysées spot on the 21st stage.

Jonas Vingegaard for team Jumbo-Visma defended his title in the 110th edition, winning the yellow jersey by 7 minutes and 29 seconds. He is yet to confirm whether he will defend his title for a third year running, but it has been rumoured that Remco Evenepoel (Soudal–Quick-Step) will be targeting the 2024 Tour de France. 


It has not yet been announced which teams will be in Florence for the start, but we expect the normal 22 teams, each with eight riders. Out of the 22 teams, 18 will be from the WorldTour, two will qualify as the top-ranked from the second-division teams, and two will be selected as wildcards by the organisers.


The Tour de France will be in its 111th edition in 2024, first starting in 1903. Having only stopped for the two world wars, the Tour rose to become the premier event of the cycling calendar and is now one of the most-watched sporting events in the world. The Tour has changed significantly since its first iteration, but at its heart remains a gruelling test of physical and mental endurance for the participants.

Such is the Tour's prestige, overall wins and stage wins are often defining moments in the careers of riders. Some riders however have shaped the history of the Tour through their exceptional exploits, winning the general classification multiple times throughout their careers. Jacques Anquetil (1957 - 1964), Eddy Merckx (1969 - 1974), Bernard Hinault (1978 - 1985) and Miguel Indurain (1991 - 1995) hold the joint record of five for the most Tour wins, while Indurain is the only rider to win his titles in five-consecutive years. American Lance Armstrong held the record of seven until he had his titles stripped in 2012 after admitting to doping. 

Chris Froome is the only current rider with more than one Tour de France overall victory, having secured four titles between 2013 and 2017.

As for stage wins, Eddy Merckx's record of 34 was matched in 2019 by Britain's Mark Cavendish, who is undoubtedly the most successful sprinter in Tour de France history. Cavendish attempted to take this record by securing a final stage win before he retired at the end of the year, however, he crashed on stage eight and broke his collarbone, forcing him out of the race.

In the other classifications, Peter Sagan has a record seven victories in the green jersey points competition, while former French rider Richard Virenque has the same number in the polka-dot jersey of the King of the Mountains.

Most Tour de France wins: 

  • 5 wins - Jacques Anquetil (1957 - 1964), Eddy Merckx (1969 - 1974), Bernard Hinault (1978 - 1985) and Miguel Indurain (1991 - 1995)
  • 4 wins - Chris Froome (2013 - 2017)
  • 3 wins - Philippe Thys (1913 - 1920), Louison Bobet (1953 - 55), Greg LeMond (1986 - 1990)

Recent Tour de France winners: 

  • 2023 - Jonas Vinegaard, Jumbo-Visma
  • 2022 - Jonas Vingegaard, Jumbo-Visma 
  • 2021 - Tadej Pogačar, UAE Team Emirates
  • 2020 - Tadej Pogačar, UAE Team Emirates
  • 2019 - Egan Bernal, Team Ineos
  • 2018 - Geraint Thomas, Team Sky
  • 2017 - Chris Froome, Team Sky
  • 2016 - Chris Froome, Team Sky
  • 2015 - Chris Froome, Team Sky
  • 2014 - Vincenzo Nibali, Astana ProTeam
  • 2013 - Chris Froome, Sky Procycling
  • 2012 - Bradley Wiggins, Sky Procycling
  • 2011 - Cadel Evans, BMC Racing Team
  • 2010 - Andy Schleck, Saxo Bank
  • 2009 - Alberto Contador, Astana
  • 2008 - Carlos Sastre, CSC ProTeam
  • 2007 - Alberto Contador, Discovery Channel
  • 2006 - Oscar Pereiro, Caisse d'Epargne

      Tour de France stories