Who are the new national time trial champions?

The riders who have earned themselves a new jersey to wear during individual time trials for the next year

Each year, the week of the National Championships kicks off with the individual time trial. A hard fought race against the clock, it determines each country’s brightest talents when it comes to getting aero and going flat out. For many, winning a national jersey is a great honour and the event serves as some rider’s main aim for the season. It’s been said that wearing a national champions jersey throughout the season is a source of extra motivation for riders and it’s also important to teams that they have as many national champions in their ranks as possible. With this being said, the stakes are high each year during Nationals week.

We’ve seen some predictable winners in this year’s National Time Trial Championships so far, but there have also been a few surprise results. In the British Championships, Ineos Grenadiers rider Ethan Hayter took victory in the men’s event, somewhat unsurprisingly given his third place in the ITT at the Critérium du Dauphiné a few weeks ago. Time trial specialist and previous Hour Record holder Joscelin Lowden took the honours in the women’s event, finishing ahead of Leah Dixon in second place.

Young prodigy Remco Evenepoel won in Belgium, 37 seconds ahead of his Quick Step Alpha-Vinyl teammate Yves Lampaert, while Tour of Flanders winner Lotte Kopecky predictably won in the women’s event. In France, it was an emotional moment for Bruno Armirail, who beat pre-race favourite Rémi Cavagna to take victory. Armirail was reportedly motivated to prove himself after being left out of Groupama-FDJ’s Tour de France team this year. Trek-Segafredo’s Audrey Cordon-Ragot took the sixth national title of her career in the women’s event in France.

Remco Evenepoel (Image: Getty)

Remco Evenepoel (Image: Getty)

In Denmark, it was a family affair for the Norsgaards as both Emma Norsgaard and her brother Mathias both took victory, clad in their matching Movistar outfits. Jan Tratnik and Matej Mohorič took first and second place respectively in Slovenia, making it a 1-2 for Bahrain-Victorious. Urška Žigart won the women’s event convincingly. Across the pond, it was Lawson Craddock and Leah Thomas who took victory in the USA, an especially impressive performance from Thomas who has only recently returned to racing following spinal surgery.

So you can keep up to speed with who will be rocking a different jersey in the race against a clock for the next year, here’s a full breakdown of this year's National Time Trial Champions.

Great Britain

Men’s winner: Ethan Hayter (Ineos-Grenadiers)
Women's winner: Joscelin Lowden (Team UNO-X)


Men's winner: Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl)
Women's winner: Lotte Kopecky (Team SD Worx)


Men's winner: Mathias Norsgaard (Movistar)
Women's winner: Emma Norsgaard (Movistar)


Men's winner: Jan Tratnik (Bahrain-Victorious)
Women's winner: Urška Žigart (Team Bike-Exchange)


Men's winner: FIlippo Ganna (Ineos-Grenadiers)
Women's winner: Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo)


Men's winner: Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo)
Women's winner: Ellen van Dijk (Trek-Segafredo)


Men's winner: Daniel Felipe Martínez


Men's winner: Tobias Foss (Jumbo-Visma)
Women's winner: Ane Iversen (Team Coop-Hitec Products)


Men's winner: Bruno Armirail (Groupama-FDJ
Women's winner: Audrey Cordon-Ragot (Trek-Segafredo)


Men's winner: Felix Großschartner (BORA-Hansgrohe)
Women's winner: Christina Schweinberger (Plantur-Pura)

United States

Men's winner: Lawson Craddock (EF Education-EasyPost)
Women's winner: Leah Thomas (Trek-Segafredo)


Men's winner: Lauro Cesar Chaman
Women's winner: Ana Paula Polegatch


Men's winner:  Jacob Ahlsson ( Motala AIF Serneke Allebike)

Women's winner: Nathalie Eklund (Massi-Tactic Women's Team)


Men's winner: Derek Gee (Isreal Cycling Academy)

Women's winner: Paula Findlay

Czech Republic

Men's winner: Jan Bárta (Elkov - Kasper)
Women's winner: Denisa Slámová


Men's winner: Joel Suter (UAE Team Emirates)
Women's winner: Elena Hartmann


Men's winner: Rein Taaramäe
Women's winner: Hanna Karoline Taaramäe


Men's winner: Yuriy Natarov (Astana Qazaqstan Team)
Women's winner: Makhabbat Umutzhanova


Men's winner: Ben Healy (EF Education-EasyPost)
Women's winner: Kelly Murphy


Men's winner: Ján Andrej Cully
Women's winner: Nora Jenčušová (BePink)


Men's winner: Maciej Bodnar (TotalEnergies)
Women's winner: Agnieszka Skalniak-Sójka (ATOM Deweloper Posciellux.pl Wrocław)


Men's winner: Raúl García Pierna (Equipo Kern Pharma)
Women's winner: Mavi Garcia (UAE Team ADQ)


Men's winner: Biniam Girmay (Intermarché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux)
Women's winner: Danait Fitsum


Men's winner: Omer Goldstein (Israel-Premier Tech)
Women's winner: 


Men's winner: Toms Skujiņš (Trek-Segafredo)
Women's winner: Dana Rožlapa


Men's winner: Sohei Kaneko
Women's winner: Shoko Kashiki (Team Illuminate) 


Men's winner: Elchin Asadov


Men's winner: Orluis Aular (Caja Rural - Seguros RGA)
Women's winner: Lilibeth Chacón

Costa Rica

Men's winner: Jose Alexis Rodriguez
Women's winner: Estefanie Alvarez


Men's winner: Aivaras Mikutis (Team Ampler - Tartu2024)
Women's winner: Inga Češulienė (Aromitalia - Basso Bikes - Vaiano)


Men's winner: Erik Fetter (EOLO-Kometa)
Women's winner: Blanka Vas (Team SD Worx)


Men's winner:  Markus Knaapi (Team Ampler - Tartu2024)
Women's winner: Anniina Ahtosalo (Team UNO-X)


Men's winner:  Lennard Kämna (BORA-Hansgrohe)
Women's winner: Lisa Brennauer (Ceratizit WNT-Pro Cycling)


Men's winner: Rafael Reis (Glassdrive Q8 Anicolor)
Women's winner: Daniela Campos (Bizkaia-Durango)


Men's winner: Bob Jungels (AG2R Citroën Team)
Women's winner: Christine Majerus (Team SD Worx)


Men's winner: Ahmet Örken (Wildlife Generation Pro Cycling)
Women's winner: Azize Bekar

Cover image: Zac Williams/SWpix

Shop now