The Cycling Hall of Fame – Vote on the 2020 shortlist

In 2018 we opened the Cycling Hall of Fame at the Rouleur Classic in London. Eddy Merckx, Beryl Burton and Ernesto Colnago were the three inaugural inductees.

Last year they were joined by Greg LeMond and Marianne Vos, while Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen, the inseparable commentary duo, were jointly named The Patron.

Our panel has spent the winter deliberating and drawn up the shortlists of men’s riders, women’s riders and possible Patrons from which you’ll select the 2020 class of inductees.

From the much missed Raymond Poulidor to the recently retired Tom Boonen, our nominees have won bike races by the hatful across the last six decades. Bernard Hinault is the only men’s rider from last year to make it onto this year’s shortlist, while Nicole Cooke is the one woman deemed worthy of another bite of the cherry. Her compatriot Laura Kenny is the only rider still to hang up her cleats. Well, it is an Olympic year…

As last year, over the coming months, Rouleur’s editorial staff will make the case for each of the eighteen, and tell some of the stories that built their respective legends: Why does “Mr Paris-Roubaix” deserves the nod over Boonen? What did Eileen Sheridan do to ride her way into the record books? How did Mapei boss Giorgio Squinzi come to build one of cycling’s best teams?

Vote for your own personal favourites from the three shortlists below. One lucky winner will attend the opening night of the Rouleur Classic in London on Thursday, November 5th and see the awards ceremony in person.

The men

Tom Boonen
Roger De Vlaeminck
Laurent Fignon
Bernard Hinault
Miguel Indurain
Raymond Poulidor

Cycling Hall of Fame Men

The women

Maria Canins
Connie Carpenter
Nicole Cooke
Laura Kenny
Jeannie Longo
Eileen Sheridan

Cycling Hall of Fame Women

The patrons

Cyrille Guimard
Dario Pegoretti
Fausto Pinarello
Peter Post
Shozaburo Shimano
Giorgio Squinzi

Cycling Hall of Fame Patron

Men’s rider

The post The Cycling Hall of Fame – Vote on the 2020 shortlist appeared first on The world's finest cycling magazine.

Shop now