Vuelta a España

Everything you need to know about the 79th Tour of Spain

Vuelta a España 2023

Date: Saturday, August 17, 2024 - Sunday, September 8, 2024 
Start: Lisbon. Portugal
Finish: Madrid, Spain
Total distance: 3,265km
Stages: 21
Riders: 184
Teams: 23
Defending champion: Sepp Kuss (Jumbo-Visma) 

Key info: Route 

The Vuelta a España, or La Vuelta, is one of cycling's three Grand Tours, along with the Giro d'Italia and the Tour de France.

Part of the UCI WorldTour, the three-week race is the most prestigious race in Spain and is now in its 79th edition. While it took time for the Vuelta to gain similar footing with the Tour and the Giro, overall victory at the race is a coveted prize that will often see the best riders in cycling go head-to-head to win.

Like the other Grand Tours, the Vuelta is held over 21 individual stages (plus two rest days) with the general classification victory awarded to the rider with the lowest aggregated time at the end of the race. While the colour of the jersey for overall leader has changed numerous times in the race's history, it made the switch from a yellow jersey to a red jersey in 2010 and has remained that way since.

Though the Vuelta is similar in format to the Giro and the Tour, it still holds much of its own identity. The route, which changes every year, in recent editions has been defined by its aggressive amount of climbing, offering very little opportunity for stage wins to sprinters or rouleurs in the way of flat routes and time trials.

The 2023 edition was won by Jumbo-Visma’s Sepp Kuss, with his teammates Jonas Vingegaard and Primož Rolgič completing the podium. It is yet to be announced whether Kuss will be returning to the Vuelta to defend his title, or whether any of his teammates will be eyeing the red jersey for themselves. 


The Vuelta a España features 23 teams, 18 of which are the UCI WorldTour teams, two second division ProTeams, and three wildcards selected by the race organisers. The 2024 team start list has not yet been confirmed.


  • Four wins: Roberto Herras (Esp)
  • Three wins: Tony Rominger (Sui), Alberto Contador (Esp), Primož Roglič (Slo)
  • Two wins: Gustaaf Deloor (Bel), Julián Berrendero (Esp), José Manuel Fuente (Esp), Bernard Hinault (Fra), Pedro Delgado (Esp), Alex Zülle (Sui), Chris Froome (GBr)


  • 2023: Sepp Kuss (USA)
  • 2022: Remco Evenepoel (Bel)
  • 2021: Primož Roglič (Slo)
  • 2020: Primož Roglič (Slo)
  • 2019: Primož Roglič (Slo)
  • 2018: Simon Yates (GBr)
  • 2017: Chris Froome (GBr)
  • 2016: Nairo Quintana (Col)
  • 2015: Fabio Aru (Ita)
  • 2014: Alberto Contador (Esp)
  • 2013: Chris Horner (USA)
  • 2012: Alberto Contador (Esp)
  • 2011: Chris Froome (GBr)
  • 2010: Vincenzo Nibali (Ita)
  • 2009: Alejandro Valverde (Esp)
  • 2008: Alberto Contador (Esp)
  • 2007: Denis Menchov (Rus)
  • 2006 Aleksandr Vinokourov (Kaz)
  • 2005: Roberto Herras (Esp)
  • 2004: Roberto Herras (Esp)

    Vuelta a España stories