Tour de France 2024 start list: The riders for this year’s race

All the riders who we know will be in attendance at the Grand Départ in Florence, Italy 

The Tour de France is almost here and team line-ups are now confirmed. Goals are set and hopes are up for each of the 176 riders taking to the start line in Florence.

The Tour is undoubtedly a race synonymous with big mountain passes, but this doesn’t mean all sports directors want to bring a bus full of climbers. GC teams will need bigger riders who can protect the leader on flatter stages where there are risks of crosswinds and keep them safe in hectic bunch finishes. It’s also important to bring those with big engines to do the work early on in the stage to control the breakaway before the race hits some of the longer climbs.

There are also the teams, such as Alpecin-Deceuninck, who will have made their selection with the sprint stages and green jersey competition in mind, meaning they will likely bring a group of strong lead-out men who can deliver their sprinter to the line rather than focussing on riders who will contest the general classification. Teams without a pure sprinter or GC hopeful might opt to bring a squad of all-rounders – those who can search for opportunistic stage wins and have the freedom to go for the breakaway on days where they might have a chance at staying away for the victory. 

So, there is a lot to consider when choosing an eight-rider line-up for the Tour de France, and it serves as one of the most important jobs for team management in the entire season. We look at who will be on the start line this year for their teams. 

Visma-Lease a Bike

1. Jonas Vingegaard 
2. Tiesj Benoot
3. Matteo Jorgenson
4. Wilco Kelderman
5. Christophe Laporte
6. Bart Lemmen
7. Jan Tratnik
8. Wout van Aert

DS: Frans Maassen and Arthur Van Dongen 

UAE Team Emirates

11. Tadej Pogačar 
12. João Almeida
13. Juan Ayuso
14. Nils Politt
15. Pavel Sivakov
16. Marc Soler
17. Tim Wellens
18. Adam Yates

DS: Simone Pedrazzini and Andrej Hauptman

Jayco Alula 

21. Simon Yates
22. Luke Durbridge 
23. Dylan Groenewegen
24. Chris Harper 
25. Christopher Juul-Jensen 
26. Michael Matthews
27. Luka Mezgec
28. Elmar Reinders

DS: Mathew Hayman and Andrew Smith

Ineos Grenadiers

31. Carlos Rodríguez
32. Egan Bernal
33. Jonathan Castroviejo
34. Laurens De Plus
35. Michał Kwiatkowski
36. Tom Pidcock
37. Geraint Thomas
38. Ben Turner

DS: Xabier Zandio and Zak Dempster


41. Giulio Ciccone
42. Julien Bernard
43. Tim Declerq
44. Ryan Gibbons
45. Mads Pedersen
46. Toms Skujiņš
47. Jasper Stuyven
48. Carlos Verona

DS: Steven De Jongh and Maxime Monfort 

Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale 

51. Felix Gall
52. Bruno Armirail
53. Sam Bennett
54. Dorian Godon
55. Paul Lapeira
56. Oliver Naesen
57. Nans Peters
58. Nicolas Prodhomme

DS: Julien Jurdie and Sébastien Joly 


61. Pello Bilbao
62. Nikias Arndt
63. Phil Bauhaus 
64. Santiago Buitrago
65. Jack Haig 
66. Matej Mohorič
67. Wout Poels
68. Fred Wright

DS: Xavier Florencio and Roman Kreuziger 


71. Remco Evenepoel
72. Jan Hirt 
73. Yves Lampaert
74. Mikel Landa
75. Gianni Moscon
76. Casper Pedersen
77. Ilan Van Wilder
78. Louis Vervaeke 

DS: Tom Steels and Davide Bramati 

Red Rull-Bora-Hansgrohe 

81. Primož Roglič
82. Nico Denz
83. Marco Haller
84. Jai Hindley
85. Bob Jungels
86. Matteo Sobrero
87. Danny van Poppel
88. Aleksandr Vlasov 

DS: Rolf Aldag and Christian Pömer 


91. David Gaudu
92. Kevin Geniets
93. Romain Grégoire
94. Stefan Küng
95. Valentin Madouas
96. Lenny Martinez
97. Quentin Pacher
98. Clément Russo

DS: Benoît Vaugrenard and Frédéric Guesdon 


101. Mathieu van der Poel 
102. Silvan Dillier 
103. Robbe Ghys
104. Søren Kragh Andersen 
105. Axel Laurance 
106. Jasper Philipsen 
107. Jonas Rickaert
108. Gianni Vermeersch 

DS: Christoph Roodhooft and Gianni Meersman

EF Education-EasyPost

111. Richard Carapaz
112. Alberto Bettiol 
113. Stefan Bissegger
114. Rui Costa
115. Ben Healy 
116. Neilson Powless
117. Sean Quinn
118. Marijn van den Berg 

DS: Charles Wegelius and Tom Southam 

Lotto Dstny

121. Arnaud De Lie
122. Cedric Beullens
123. Victor Campenaerts 
124. Jarrad Drizners
125. Sébastian Grignard
126. Maxim Van Gils
127. Harm Vanhoucke
128. Brent Van Moer

DS: Mario Aerts and Marc Wauters 

Israel-Premier Tech

131. Stephen Williams
132. Pascal Ackermann
133. Guillaume Boivin
134. Jakob Fuglsang
135. Derek Gee
136. Hugo Houle
137. Krists Neilands
138. Jake Stewart

DS: Steve Bauer and Dror Pekatch 


141. Guillaume Martin
142. Piet Allegaert
143. Bryan Coquard
144. Simon Geschke
145. Jesús Herrada
146. Ion Izagirre
147. Alexis Renard
148. Axel Zingle 

DS: Thierry Marichal and Bingen Fernández 


151. Enric Mas
152. Alex Aranburu
153. Davide Formolo
154. Fernando Gaviria
155. Oier Lazkano
156. Gregor Mühlberger
157. Nelson Oliveira
158. Javier Romo

DS: Vicente José Acosta García and Iván Velasco 

Arkéa-B&B Hotels

161. Kévin Vauquelin 
162. Amaury Capiot
163. Clément Champoussin
164. Arnaud Démare
165. Raúl García Pierna 
166. Daniel Mclay
167. Luca Mozzato
168. Cristián Rodríguez

DS: Sébastien Hinault and Yvon Ledanois 


171. Louis Meintjes
172. Biniam Girmay
173. Kobe Goossens
174. Hugo Page
175. Laurenz Rex
176. Mike Teunissen
177. Gerben Thijssen
178. Georg Zimmermann

DS: Aike Visbeek and Lorenzo Lapage 

Team dsm-fermenich PostNL

181. Romain Bardet
182. Warren Barguil
183. John Degenkolb
184. Nils Eekhoff
185. Fabio Jakobsen
186. Oscar Onley 
187. Frank Van Den Broek
188. Bram Welten

DS: Christian Guiberteau and Matthew Winston 

Astana Qazaqstan

191. Mark Cavendish
192. Davide Ballerini
193. Cees Bol
194. Yevgeniy Federov
195. Michele Gazzoli
196. Alexey Lutsenko
197. Michael Mørkøv
198. Harold Tejada


DS: Stefano Zanini and Dmitriy Fofonov 

      Uno-X Mobility

      201. Magnus Cort
      202. Jonas Abrahamsen
      203. Christian Odd Eiking
      204. Tobias Halland Johannessen
      205. Alexander Kristoff 
      206. Johannes Kulset 
      207. Rasmus Tiller
      208. Søren Wærenskjold

      DS: Gabriel Rasch and Stig Kristiansen 


      211. Steff Cras
      212. Mathieu Burgaudeau
      213. Sandy Dujardin
      214. Thomas Gachignard
      215. Fabian Grellier
      216. Jordan Jegat
      217. Anthony Turgis
      218. Mattéo Vercher

      DS: Benoit Genauzeau and Romain Sicard 

        Shop now