Tour de France 2023 start list: The confirmed riders for this year’s race

All the riders who we know will be in attendance at the Grand Départ in Bilbao

This start list is provisional, and we will update it as team line-ups are confirmed. 

With many of the Tour de France warm-up races out of the way, teams are putting in the final preparations before the Grand Départ on Saturday July 1, 2023, including the team's rosters of riders.

The Tour is undoubtedly a race synonymous with big mountain passes, but this doesn’t mean all sports directors want to bring a bus full of climbers. GC teams will need bigger riders who can protect the leader on flatter stages where there are risks of crosswinds and keep them safe in hectic bunch finishes. It’s also important to bring those with big engines to do the work early on in the stage to control the breakaway before the race hits some of the longer climbs.

There are also the teams, such as Soudal–Quick-Step, who will have made their selection with the sprint stages and green jersey competition in mind, meaning they will likely bring a group of strong lead-out men who can deliver their sprinter to the line rather than focussing on riders who will contest the general classification. Teams without a pure sprinter or GC hopeful might opt to bring a squad of all-rounders – those who can search for opportunistic stage wins and have the freedom to go for the breakaway on days where they might have a chance at staying away for the victory. 

So, there is a lot to consider when choosing an eight-rider line-up for the Tour de France, and it serves as one of the most important jobs for team management in the entire season. We look at who will be on the start line this year for their teams. 

AG2R Citroën Team

  • Aurélien Paret-Peintre
  • Felix Gall
  • Nans Peters
  • Clément Berthet
  • Oliver Naesen
  • Ben O'Connor 
  • Benoît Cosnefroy
  • Stan Dewulf 

Alpecin Deceuninck

  • Quinten Hermans
  • Jonas Rickaert
  • Mathieu van der Poel 
  • Jasper Philipsen 
  • Michael Gogl
  • Søren Kragh Andersen 
  • Silvan Dillier 
  • Ramon Sinkeldam 

Astana Qazaqstan 

  • Luis León Sànchez
  • Yevgeniy Fedorov
  • Mark Cavendish 
  • Cees Bol
  • David de la Cruz 
  • Harold Tejada
  • Gianni Moscon 
  • Alexey Lutsenko 


  • Nikias Arndt 
  • Phil Bauhaus
  • Matej Mohorič
  • Pello Bilbao 
  • Fred Wright 
  • Mikel Landa
  • Wout Poels 
  • Jack Haig 


  • Emanuel Buchmann
  • Marco Haller 
  • Jai Hindley 
  • Bob Jungles
  • Jordi Meeus 
  • Nils Politt 
  • Danny van Poppel 
  • Patrick Konrad


  • Alexis Renard 
  • Simon Geschke
  • Alex Zingle 
  • Anthony Perez
  • Victor Lafay 
  • Bryan Coquard
  • Ion Izagirre 
  • Guillaume Martin 

EF Education-EasyPost

  • Alberto Bettiol 
  • Rigoberto Urán
  • Neilson Powless
  • James Shaw
  • Magnus Cort
  • Richard Carapaz 
  • Andrey Amador 
  • Esteban Chaves 


  • Thibaut Pinot 
  • Lars van den Berg 
  • Olivier le Gac 
  • Quentin Pacher 
  • Stefan Küng 
  • Kevin Geniets 
  • David Gaudu
  • Valentin Madouas 

Ineos Grenadiers

  • Carlos Rodríguez 
  • Michał Kwiatkowski 
  • Egan Bernal 
  • Daniel Felipe Martínez
  • Thomas Pidcock
  • Jonathan Castroviejo 
  • Ben Turner 
  • Omar Fraile 


  • Rui Costa 
  • Georg Zimmermann 
  • Dion Smith 
  • Mike Teunissen
  • Adrien Petit
  • Louis Meintjes
  • Biniam Girmay 
  • Lilian Calmejane 

Jayco Alula

  • Simon Yates
  • Dylan Groenewegen
  • Luka Mezgec
  • Elmar Reinders
  • Lawson Craddock
  • Luke Durbridge 
  • Chris Harper
  • Christopher Juul-Jensen 


  • Wilco Kelderman
  • Dylan van Baarle
  • Wout van Aert
  • Tiesj Benoot 
  • Christophe Laporte 
  • Nathan Van Hooydonck 
  • Sepp Kuss 
  • Jonas Vingegaard 


  • Matteo Jorgenson 
  • Enric Mas
  • Ruben Guerreiro
  • Nelson Oliveira 
  • Antonio Pedrero
  • Gregor Mühlberger 
  • Alex Aranburu 
  • Gorka Izagirre 


  • Rémi Cavagna 
  • Yves Lampert
  • Kasper Asgreen
  • Dries Devenyns
  • Julian Alaphilippe 
  • Tim Declercq
  • Michael Mørkøv
  • Fabio Jakobsen

Team Arkéa-Samsic

  • Clément Champoussin
  • Warren Barguil 
  • Laurent Pichon
  • Simon Guglielmi
  • Jenthe Biermans
  • Luca Mozzato
  • Anthony Delaplace
  • Matis Louvel  

Team DSM

  • Nils Eekhoff 
  • John Degenkolb
  • Kevin Vermaerke 
  • Alex Edmondson
  • Sam Welsford
  • Matthew Dinham 
  • Chris Hamilton
  • Romain Bardet


  • Tony Gallopin
  • Giulio Ciccone 
  • Mads Pedersen 
  • Jasper Stuyven
  • Juan Pedro López 
  • Mattias Skjelmose 
  • Alex Kirsch 
  • Quinn Simmons 

UAE Team Emirates

  • Adam Yates
  • Felix Großschartner
  • Mikkel Bjerg
  • Tadej Pogačar 
  • Marc Soler 
  • Vegard Stake Laengen
  • Rafal Majka 
  • Matteo Trentin

Lotto dstny

  • Victor Campenaerts 
  • Jasper de Buyst 
  • Pascal Eenkhoorn 
  • Frederik Frison
  • Jacopo Guarnieri
  • Florian Vermeersch 
  • Caleb Ewan
  • Maxim Van Gils


  • Daniel Oss
  • Mathieu Burgaudeau 
  • Pierre Latour 
  • Edvald Boasson Hagen
  • Anthony Turgis
  • Steff Cras 
  • Peter Sagan 
  • Valentin Ferron 

Israel-Premier Tech

  • Michael Woods
  • Guillaume Boivin
  • Hugo Houle 
  • Krists Neilands
  • Corbin Strong
  • Nick Schultz
  • Simon Clarke
  • Dylan Teuns

Uno-X Pro Cycling Team 

  • Torstein Træen
  • Søren Wærenskjold 
  • Anthon Charmig 
  • Jonas Gregaard
  • Jonas Abrahamsen 
  • Rasmus Tiller 
  • Tobias Halland Johannessen
  • Alexander Kristoff

Shop now